Four/Five Freedoms

EU economic law is often described as enshrining four economic freedoms

  • The free movement of goods;
  • The free movement of services and freedom of establishment (i.e. the freedom of EU citizens and entities to set up business in other member states);
  • The free movement of persons (and citizenship), including free movement of workers;
  • The free movement of capital.

In 2007 the European Commission started to advocate making the free movement of knowledge, which if recognised, would have a very significant impact on technology industries and potentially intellectual property law.

Related Terms